We Are All Treaty People

For myself, teaching treaty education was something that I have no permission to teach. As an immigrant, I was unsure and felt intrusive even to do so. Perhaps it should be left to teach by elders and experts.
However, Claire has enlighten us with the perspective of “we are all treaty people.” I am very happy to know that I can say that and to the students.
Past 14 years in canada, I was busy accustomed into the Euro-Canadian ways of living and did not pay enough attention to Canada’s First Nations people and their legacies and feats that had been taken away.
I look forward to see us, student-teachers, becoming fearless and advocate of treaty education.

1 thought on “We Are All Treaty People”

  1. I find it interesting to think of treaty education from the perspective of an immigrant. I wonder what it will be like to teach treaty education in a multicultural classroom in Saskatchewan. I appreciate your perspective.

Leave a Reply

