See no evil, Hear no evil, Speak no evil

hear_see_say_no_evil

The photo: see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil

In Japan, this refers to the three wise monkeys: it associates with being of good mind, speech and action.However, I saw it as children are being made blind, deaf and speechless about racism in society. 

It took me a while to put down my thoughts onto the paper and here it is. (Assignment 2 Part 2)|
I chose two stories from Rita Tenorio, “Brown Kids Can’t Be in Our Club” and “Curriculum is Everything That Happens,” to reflect my own act of racism and how can I move onto practicing anti oppressive teaching.

4 thoughts on “See no evil, Hear no evil, Speak no evil”

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I feel as though a lot of people do not recognize that by standing by and doing nothing about the racism that surrounds them, they are perpetuating that discrimination. Growing up where I did, I was also surrounded by racist ideas, but since I did not take part in this overt racism myself, I did not realize that I was perpetuating these ideas by not actively fighting against them until I reached university. How will you try to combat racism within your future classroom?

    1. Thanks for your comment. I want to try to talk and discuss about racism openly with my future students. Maybe we will find a way together. I think I will be strong to openly talk about it without uncomfortable or any biased feeling while I am being in this program and think, un and re-think about what it is my mission to combat racism.

  2. Eriko – I find it really interesting that you see your decision to move to Canada as being motivated by the desire to be part of “White society.” I appreciate your honesty about your perceptions – we are taught not to admit to these feelings, so this is an important step for you! I really like your idea of sharing your experience with your future students – to let them know that it is okay to acknowledge these feelings so that we can start to learn from them.
    The image of the three wise monkeys works well here – it speaks to Kumashiro’s idea of commonsense – the things that we are taught to see as absolute truth, in turn ignoring other truths.
    Thank you for this honest and thoughtful reflection.

Leave a Reply

