Teaching Philosophy

As a part of ECS200 class, we are to create our own teaching philosophy.

When I entered this education program, I thought I was more clear of what was my mission as an educator. However, it is becoming more and more confused and conflicted about what it is important for me and my future students as I continue my journey. Perhaps, because I have not taken enough time to reflect upon my thoughts and what I have learned. Or perhaps, everything I learned seem important and cannot to choose right now.

So I decided to take my time to explore my teaching philosophy using prompts from University of Waterloo web page.

Respond to the following prompts in developing a comprehensive record of your beliefs about the various aspects of teaching and learning:

  1. Why do you believe your students want to learn? Describe them as learners in any way you can.
    – I believe students are naturally curious being, filled with questions and wonders about anything. It is up to us educators to nurture or hinder their curiosities. I want to provide active and safe environments for students to explore their curiosities, and I want to be their guide and stage manager.
  2. What are your aims for teaching? What do you hope to accomplish when you teach? What do your aims say about you as a teacher?
    – I think students need to build basic skills as their foundation to continue with their learning. However, basic skills for my future students may not be same as what I established decades ago. I hope to be flexible and open enough to see the change in needs and being able to adapt myself.
  3. Does your subject matter affect your beliefs about teaching or learning? If so, explain how.
    – I am learner first and I will work hard to gain knowledge about subjects I will be teaching. However, teaching may not be a right word for my style, it is to share my knowledge and learn together with my students.
  4. Create a list in response to the following prompt: “When I teach I:” Once you’ve created the list, reflect on why you do what you do.
    – When I teach I am an authoritative leader. I will lead my students’ day in my classroom. I will be there to assist and guide through their learning journey. Establishing classroom rules with students is important for me.
  5. What do you believe about learning? How would you describe it? What are your sources for your beliefs?
    – I believe life long learning. There is always more dimensions to what we know or learn and we must keep exploring those different sides. Moreover, technology is advancing and the world is shrinking. There is always something new to learn every single day, minute, even second.

Well, I must keep coming back to my responses and reflect on them over time.

4 thoughts on “Teaching Philosophy”

  1. You look like you are on a great start! People kept telling me that my philosophy would be constantly changing. But what I learned as I went through internship, is that it just got a lot bigger! The more you experience, the more you figure out what you believe. I can tell you got this teaching thing in the bag!
    Check out my philosophy on my blog!
    Randilyninspired.wordpress.com

    1. Thank you so much for your comment & sharing your philosophy. As you said, it is a on going process and changing constantly. I will keep working on it through my journey.

  2. […] My philosophy is always evolving as I live and learn each and everyday. I know that my families and childhood experiences are central to what I believed and valued ( and still do in some cases). However, those my beliefs and values had been overturned, or perhaps it’s better said to be shed new light on so many time as I started my journey of becoming an educator. I did not realize how hard but fascinating to think critically until I was challenged by instructors and professors here at U of R. It could be uncomfortable at times when I dig deep down to analyze social justice issues; but in the end, I have discovered myself – my beliefs and values, and how I see the world. So the practice of critical thinking and reflection is central to develop my philosophy. (And here is one I did in spring 2014. My Teaching Philosophy) […]

Leave a Reply

