Tradition and Gender Equality

After the presentation of Treaty Education in our seminar this morning, I started to wonder about how to honor a tradition and gender equality.

Blair and Emma explained about how eagle feather as sacred object thus female in Moon cycle cannot hold it.
Grant Urban talked about the drums as sacred and it must be carried by male.

I am not against this tradition and I would honor it sincerely.

But, what should I do if girls in my future class would say “That’s not fair!” “why girls have to put up with tradition?”
I was a that kind of girl to think about tradition. I did not voice it our loud, but many tradition made me wonder.

If I did not say anything, that teaches students I do not care about it?
But what should I say?

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

