Digital Citizenship and Sexuality/Health

As I continue to learn about digital citizenship, I am reflecting upon the relationship between Digital citizenship and sexuality/health. Because I have watched Sext-up Kids in the other class already, I decided to watch the Sextortion of Amanda Todd. I remember the news about Amanda Todd’s death and her YouTube video, it was reported as she took her life because she was bullied but I really did not know that she was blackmailed with her one particular act she did on the web. Like in both documentaries, it is truly disturbing but, children are living in an overly unrealistic sexualized world.

As I watch this documentary, I became more and more scared for my baby girl. Oh, what if my girl was victimized… Now this is personal concern for me to teach about digital safety to my daughter and students. But how can I do that? Does the scare tactic of fairytale work?

So I decided to connect this into Saskatchewan Health curriculum.
First I looked up Grade 5, as I thought this is the age group for puberty. Then I thought to myself, I want to have this conversation as early as possible. Who knows if my baby will be using tablet when she is in Grade 1 (which is year 2020) with this speed of advancing technology. So I decided to look up from Kindergarten curriculum to see how can I connect to digital citizenship and safety. And I hope having to practice healthy digital citizenship from young will prevent anyone from getting involved or victimized in any digital crime.

As I examine the health curriculum for Kindergarten (see below), I realized that this is actually the best time to start teaching about digital citizenship while learning about themselves.  Especially there should be an emphasis in nine elements of digital citizenship: Communication, Rights and Responsibilities, Health and Wellness, Security.
I strongly feel that this components should be shared with parents/guardians. There should be awareness of how to use social media at home, what to share and what to keep as private. As a parent, this is my self reminder as well. We must learn to stop and think” before posting anything. Adults should be responsible and respect young children’s rights and protect their privacy for both present and future. And make sure children are comfortable to ask questions or seek help about their safety in digital world just like in the community.

Health Education K

Understanding, Skills, and Confidences (USC)
USCK.1 Develop basic habits to establish healthy relationships with self, others, and the environment.
USCK.2 Establish behaviours that support safety of self and others (including safety at school and at home).
USCK.3 Explore that who I am includes more than my physical self.

Decision Making (DM)
DMK.1 Establish that being curious about health and well-being is important for developing healthy habits, establishing healthy relationships, supporting safety, and exploring “self”.

Action Planning (AP)
APK.1 Demonstrate, with guidance, initial steps for developing basic health habits, establishing healthy relationships, supporting safety, and exploring “self”.

2 thoughts on “Digital Citizenship and Sexuality/Health”

Leave a Reply

