Yousician

My learning project has been kind of slow going, but I just started to use Yousician app on my iPad. I saw this advertised when I started my project watching YouTube videos and I thought I would give it a try. It’s been 2 weeks since I downloaded the app and I only practiced 3-4 times with this; however, I do like it and here are some positive point:

  1. It’s free. You get 20 minutes practice daily for free. If you want to practice more, you can upgrade to Premium. (I don’t think I will though, because 20 minutes practice is just enough for me right now.img_5427
  2. You can choose different instruments such as Bass, Ukulele, and Piano. I might want to try Ukulele next. I watched James’ learning project and I really liked the sound of the ukulele.
  3. Yousician has the guitar tuner which is much easier than clip-on type. It tells if the sound is too low or high with easy to read indicator. It also tells the correct code for each string on the screen and I don’t need to memorize them all. (or perhaps I should memorize them all… well, eventually I will.) img_5430
  4. You can practice skills in the game-like settings. First, you can start with tutorial video about what will be covered in the section, then you can start practice what you are working on. I am working on frets: which are those thin metal bars on the guitar neck. I really like this practice because I only need to focus on one string at a time. img_5428
  5. This game like setting gives you instant feedback on whether you going too slow or fast. You can change the tempo to slower in the beginning of practice, then, you can speed up the tempo as you get comfortable with finger placements.
  6. This app is downloadable to PC as well. I might try PC version so I can record my learning project using iPad.

So far, Yousician has been a pretty good companion for my learning project.

5 thoughts on “Yousician”

  1. I really appreciate your breakdown of the positives of this app, and as you stated I am learning Ukulele and will definitely consider looking at this app in addition to the videos I have been watching.
    Thank you for your insight!

  2. I had never heard of this app before. This is so cool! I think this app is a great resource for you. My dad plays the guitar, I’ll be sure to show him this app. I look forward to seeing your next post!

    Side note: I love the way your blog posts are set up.

Leave a Reply

